Gettin’ Hitched (engaged anyway!)

First Cup December 17, 2006

Yesterday, I asked Doobie to be my wife. She said yes.
The long of it goes like this.

Doobie and I met 4.5 years ago when I was working as a barista a coffee shop here in Oakland. I had just moved back to California from Seattle and was content to be living like a hermit in my studio apartment. But there was this girl that kept coming into the shop. She was always smiling. In spite of my attitude, I found myself smiling back.

I finally got the nerve to talk to her. She was my age, also from Northern California, and had coincidentally gone to school in Seattle. We marveled at the fact in all the time we had been living just miles from each other, we had never met. She had travelled all over, and was about to depart to Gabon in Africa for a stint in the Peace Corps. I was hooked.

For our first date, we drove to the lighthouse at Point Reyes. She picked me up from work and we set out. Doobie brought sandwiches of avocado and cheese. A safe bet, thinking I might be vegetarian, but never knowing that I hated avocados. Or at least thought I did. Not wanting to ruin the moment, I started in, suprised to find every bite more delicious than the last. This would be the first of many foods I would come around to under Doobie’s watch.

Needless to say, she didn’t go to Africa. Instead we lived in each other’s company, introducing friends and family along the way.

So after all this time, we found ourselves back at that lighthouse in Point Reyes. We walked to a secluded spot that overlooks the Pacific, and with a shaggy deer in attendance, I asked Doobie to be with me always. We laughed and embraced and began to dream.

Love!

16 Comments

Filed under Not Coffee

16 responses to “Gettin’ Hitched (engaged anyway!)

  1. Though we’ve not met, we’re linked by way of Point Reyes, where I asked my wife to marry me last year. Congratulations!

  2. Gobs

    Congrats. I got engaged early this year so I know the feeling. It’s one of the best moments anyone can experience.

  3. Awww. I am so happy for you two. Congratulations!

  4. JMR

    Fools!
    We need more fools…
    Congratulations to you both.

    -Recently hitched and lovinig it Joshua

  5. molly

    As Max eloquently put it: “dude, they finally got engaged. Took the brother long enough, sheesh” Congrats!!!

  6. caroline

    Congratulations!!!!! When are you both coming to visit NYC?

  7. monkradio

    doobie ford.
    nice car.
    big congrats.

  8. I am so happy for you both. You really are beautiful togethter. Congrats Steve Ford!

  9. Lindy McCarthy

    Hey dude- congratulations! where are you having the wedding? I hope you have some sort of Seattle celebration so we can do some booty shaking :)

  10. Craig Kerrick

    I just finally got to read the news after the Christmas retail thing and it cheered me up like nothing else has. Thanks and Congratulations.

  11. Awesome man lovly story I hope your both very happy for a very long time

  12. Congrats Steve!

    Very happy for you both.

  13. congrats! when in your old stomping grounds, come by the yarn shop and I’ll congrat you in person. write on!

  14. Amy Jenniges

    Hooray! That’s so exciting! Everyone’s getting married in 2007, it seems. Everyone we knew from college, at least (us included). As Sonia says “that’s a lot of married.” I haven’t heard as sweet an engagement story yet, though.

    (p.s. – how you doing? I just found this blog when trying to look you up… remember Jennifer Elam and Shawna Behling, both ’01 honors clan/spectator alums? they may be opening a coffee shop in Portland—where Sonia and I live now—and I know you’re a big ol’ coffee geek. they may be hitting you up for advice!)

Leave a Reply

